• |


2013-2014 BNSF Railway Foundation Scholarship winners named


The BNSF Railway Foundation has awarded scholarships to 41 dependents of BNSF employees, retirees and deceased personnel in recognition of their outstanding high school academic achievements.

Each high school senior will receive a $2,500 scholarship, renewable annually for four years.

The foundation established the scholarship program to recognize and reward outstanding academic achievement and to assist a limited number of college-bound children of BNSF employees with some college expenses.

Student's name


Parent's title

Work location

Matthew Arnold

Mark Arnold

Consulting Systems Developer

Fort Worth

Kaylyn Barrett

Jim Barrett

Manager II, Telecommunications

Fort Worth

Collin Bentley

Gary Bentley

Road Foreman of Engines

Chaffee, Mo.

Natalie BrinJones

Patrick Gray


Spokane, Wash.

Kaitlyn Chapman

Hal Chapman


Spokane, Wash.

Lydia Clark

Kevin Clark

Machine Operator

Needles, Calif.

Derrick Cleveland

Don Cleveland

Director, Industrial Hygiene

Fort Worth

Ellery Cushman

Greg Cushman

Locomotive Engineer

Lubbock, Texas

Mason Donnell

Robert Mark Donnell


Springfield, Mo.

Jonah Erickson

Roger Erickson

Locomotive Engineer

San Bernardino, Calif.

Alexa Gomez

William F. Gomez

Locomotive Engineer

Lubbock, Texas

Zachary Grunder

Robert Grunder


Lincoln, Neb.

Gregory Hamilton

Philip Hamilton

Machine Operator

Springfield, Mo.

Jaime Hay

Jolyn Hay

General Clerk

Kansas City, Kan.

Tristen Head

Rodney Head

General Clerk

Fort Worth

Bethany Heiden

Jeffrey Heiden

Track Supervisor

Ottawa, Kan.

Megan Hite

William Allen Hite

Mechanical Foreman I

Lincoln, Neb.

Lauren Hudak

Trent Hudak

Director, Engineering Services

Kansas City, Kan.

Tyler Jones

Tod Jones


Lincoln, Neb

Remick Kawawaki

Keith Kawawaki

Locomotive Engineer

Vancouver, Wash.

Kacie Kerlee

Shawn Avants

Claims Representative

Fort Worth

Alyona Kutsar

Ivan Kutsar


Vancouver, Wash.

Gillian Madden

Bryan Madden

Senior Manager, Homeland Security

Cicero, Ill.

Deavon Mauch

Anthony Mauch

Telecom Maintenance Manager

Gillette, Wyo.

Zachary Melvin

Wesley Melvin


Springfield, Mo.

Cheyenne Morris

Edward Morris II


Kansas City, Kan.

Matthew Mullins

David Mullins

General Construction Supervisor

Lenexa, Kan.

Austin Peters

Phillip George Peters

Electronic Technician Telecom


Larissa Price

Beau D. Price

Director, Locomotive & Air Brake Systems

Havre, Mont.

Kristen Robinson

Michael Robinson

Consulting Systems Developer I

Fort Worth

Joelle Sandberg

Timothy Sandberg

General Clerk

St. Paul, Minn.

Barbara Senger

James Senger


Mandan, N.D.

Joseph Shelley

Michael Shelley


Clovis, N.M.

Lucas Shurson

John C. Shurson

Assistant Director, Public Projects

San Bernardino, Calif.

Jessica Smith

Samuel T. Smith

Locomotive Engineer

Gillette, Wyo.

Cole Sogge

Chad Peterson

Conductor/Training Conductor

Dilworth, Minn.

Curran Steck

Thomas J. Steck Jr.


Kansas City, Kan.

Jaycie Sward

Stephen B. Sward

Locomotive Engineer

Alliance, Neb.

Trey Turley

Shawn Michael Turley

Locomotive Engineer

Phoenix, Ariz.

Andrew Wolf

Billy Wolf


Mandan, N.D.

Sydney Zetterberg

Steve Zetterberg

Machine Operator

Kewanee, Ill.

International Scholarship and Tuition Services (ISTS) manages the scholarship program for the BNSF Railway Foundation, including establishment of criteria and decisions on scholarship recipients. Questions about the selection process and criteria should be directed to ISTS at 615-627-9075.

Information about applying for the BNSF College Scholarship Program for 2013-14 will be announced later this year in BNSF Today and in Railway.

BNSF Headquarters

BNSF Railway Company
2650 Lou Menk Dr. 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 961057
Fort Worth, TX 76161-0057
Phone: (817) 352-1000

For more information on the company and its transportation solutions, visit the BNSF Web site at www.bnsf.com

Choose a Social Network